Weekly Photo Challenge – Arranged

This photo is of a Marquetry piece I created many years go.  I saw the picture of this scene with Jesus stilling the storm in a periodical and thought it would make a beautiful piece done in varying colors of wood.  In case you are not familiar with Marquetry, I will tell you that it is artwork in which a picture is formed by designing and cutting out pieces of wood and “arranging” them into the pattern that you want. None of the wood is painted. The work is done with pieces of wood in its original, natural color. I designed this picture free-hand and then drew the design onto the pieces of wood and cut out each piece, “arranging” each one in its appointed place.  I gave this piece to my daughter, and it hangs in her home today. I have always loved working with wood, and I am very happy to know that today many people own Marquetry pieces that came from my woodworking shop.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Arranged

Leave a Reply

